Posted by Basil on April 03, 2001 at 01:55:44:
In Reply to: Re: Fasting during Lent posted by Joanna on March 29, 2001 at 23:27:58:
: : What are the forbidden foods during
: : Lent?
: During Holy Lent the following foods are not to be eaten:
: Basically any animal products, that is, milk and dairy products, meat, fish, and eggs. Fish can be eaten on special feast days during lent although that doesn't mean you can have any of the other "forbidden" foods. If one is to have Holy Communion then oil cannot be eaten for half a day (that is, after lunch at 1 or 2pm) prior to the morning of Communion and no oil is to be eaten all day and no food for half a day if Communion is to be had in the evening.
Of course, the whole idea behind Lent also includes fasting (abstaining ) from all sinful behavior. By the way, shellfish such as shrimp etc. are allowed during Lent (in the Orthodox Church).
Post a Followup