Re: baklava

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Greek Connection Message Board ] [ Greek Connection ]

Posted by Titus on June 07, 2001 at 18:47:51:

In Reply to: Re: baklava posted by richard rubinstein on July 11, 2000 at 14:18:07:

:
: : : HELP! Need some background info on baklava desperately!

: : Ok! First, since it must be obvious from my e-mail address, I must tell you that I am a scientist. I receltly completed a two year program in ophthalmology at Gerogetown University in Washington, DC. So, it should be obvious to you that I am fairly good with books and research.
: : May I suggest that you read "The Complete Greek Cookbook" by Theresa Karas Yianilos [Avenel Books (a division of Crown Publishers, Inc. 419 Park Ave South, New York, NY 10016) ISBN 0-517-128780; also Library of Congress Cat. Card No. 74-79256] . A very good historical background is given for many of the Greek recipies and their origin. According to Yianilos, as well as my own previous studies, it happens that Baklava is of Byzantine origin (Yianilos, page 152)
: :
: : I should further expalin that my father owned a restaurant; and, I worked most of my formative years in my Dad's business. Moreover, I worked in a few Greek restaurants as a Greek chef while in college to make extra money.
: :
: : Bakalava predates the Turks; though the Turks like to tell everyone that "baklava is their national dish"; the fact remains that they did not invent Baklava.