Re: Fasting during Lent

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Greek Connection Message Board ] [ Greek Connection ]

Posted by Joanna on April 05, 2001 at 09:17:56:

In Reply to: Re: Fasting during Lent posted by Basil on April 03, 2001 at 02:00:31:

: : : What are the forbidden foods during
: : : Lent?

: : Allison,

: : During Holy Lent the following foods are not to be eaten:

: : Basically any animal products, that is, milk and dairy products, meat, fish, and eggs. Fish can be eaten on special feast days during lent although that doesn't mean you can have any of the other "forbidden" foods. If one is to have Holy Communion then oil cannot be eaten for half a day (that is, after lunch at 1 or 2pm) prior to the morning of Communion and no oil is to be eaten all day and no food for half a day if Communion is to be had in the evening.

: Of course, the whole idea behind Lent also includes fasting (abstaining ) from all sinful behavior. By the way, shellfish such as shrimp etc. are allowed during Lent (in the Orthodox Church).

Actually, we should be abstaining from all sinful behaviour ALL THE TIME. BUT the lenten period and it's "extra" disciplines such as stricter fasting should serve to aid the person in becoming more aware of their soul and what it means by looking at Christ's suffering and amazing sacrifice for us. During the lenten period we make sacrifices (such as abstaining from certain foods) inorder to discipline ourselves and to gain some insight into Christ's suffering. It's also one aspect of purifying one self (one also must go to Confession) to receive His body and blood throught the Eucharist (Holy Communion). Abstinence (from foods and other things) without reflection and repentance is useless.

Follow Ups:

Post a Followup





Optional Link URL:

Link Title:

Optional Image URL:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Greek Connection Message Board ] [ Greek Connection ]