Re: Let's Hear it from the MEN!!!

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Greek Connection Message Board ] [ Greek Connection ]

Posted by Cessie on November 10, 2000 at 11:16:38:

In Reply to: Re: Let's Hear it from the MEN!!! posted by Mihalis on November 07, 2000 at 10:33:54:

: OK Bebe, to save you the trip to find my story...

: I am a 30 year old doctor. At the risk of sounding conceited, I am somewhat cute. I grew up mostly in the US and speak next-to-perfect Greek(yes, I am a Greek mother's dream). I never got into trouble as a child and was always my mother's angel (oldest of four). All of my life, my parents brainwashed me to believe that I was going to marry a Greek woman from their village on their island. As a child, I was always told that "we" did or did not do this. There was no "I". I am very lucky that I actually wanted to be a doctor because nothing else would have been good enough. My parents controlled every aspect of my life. They determined who my friends were as a child and they alienated my first true love. I was only 17 and did not know to continue to pursue her.

: My parents kept trying to match me with girls whom they thought were of "good families". This was a joke. The choices they meade were terrible. They would not allow me to be interested in the girls that I liked. You know the story:"Her house is old"..."Her mother was a harlot"..."Her katsikes are skinny"...etc. In the end, I realized that no woman would be good enough for them. In as much as I love my parents, this was a difficult realisation.